Khel Ratna Award 2016 - Narendra Modi

PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik to win Khel Ratna Award:

The two women athletes Sakshi Malik and PV Sindhu, who have won medals in Rio Olympics 2016 under Women Badminton Singles and Wrestling have received the prominent Rajiv Gandhi ‘Khel Ratna Award’. In India, the award is considered as the highest honor in the sports and both of them got felicitated by the President Pranab Mukherjee, on Monday. Along with both of them, Jitu Rai and Dipa Karmakar were also given this award. Dipa Karmakar pulled off the fourth place in the Women’s Gymnastics at the Final at Rio and therefore, is honored for that.

Khel Ratna Award - PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar and Jitu Rai

Dipa Karmakar and Jitu Rai were also honored with the Award:

On the other hand, the Ace shooter Jitu Rai also received the Khel Ratna. We all know how the nation cheered for Sindhu for her fight against Carolina Marin in the finals and how Sakshi Malik gave her best to win the bronze in the freestyle women’s wrestling 58 kg event. For the first time in the national history of Sports, four athletes (that too, women) were chosen for the Khel Ratna along with Jitu Rai showing and being proud about the girl supremacy at the Rio Olympics. Back in 2009, the Khel Ratna award was shared by three athletes MC Mary Kom and Vijender Singh (Boxers) and Sushil Kumar (Wrestler).

Ajinkya Rahane won Arjuna Award

Ajinkya Rahane to win the Arjuna Award:

The four athletes were welcomed on the stage with huge applause and were cheered hard while receiving the awards. The honor consisted of a medal, cash prize of 7.5 Lakh and a certificate. Along with the Khel Ratna, 15 other athletes including Ajinkya Rahane were awarded certificates, statuettes and a cash prize of 5 Lakh rupees. Ajinkya Rahane who got selected for the award missed out on it as he has been in Florida of the United States with the Indian Team for the T20 Series against West Indies. Neeraj Chopra, the Javelin thrower and also the first Indian athlete to win the gold medal and become the world champion at U-20 Championship, was also selected as the Arjuna Award winners. Shiva Thapa, Lalita Babar, Rani Rampal and VR Raghunath were the other players to win the Arjuna Award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here