MS Dhoni has stepped down as captain of the Indian ODI and T20 teams. However he will be available for the selection for the One Day and T20I series against England. He conveyed his decision to the Senior Selection Committee today. The committee will meet on January 6 to select the team for the three-match ODI series against England.

Virat Kohli who is currently captaining the Test team is the next possible candidate to take over the mantle.

MS Dhoni quits as captain of Indian ODI and T20 teams

MS Dhoni has unprecedented success record as a limited overs captain. he also led the team to winning the World T20 in 2007, the ICC World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy 2013.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said that “MS Dhoni has informed the BCCI, that he wishes to step down as the captain of the Indian Cricket Team from the One Day Internationals and the T20 Internationals formats of the game,”

Mr Rahul Johri, Chief Executive Officer of the BCCI said, “On the behalf of every Indian cricket fan and the BCCI, I would like to thank MS Dhoni for his outstanding contribution as the captain of the Indian team across all formats. Under his leadership, Indian team has touched new heights. His achievements will remain etched forever in the annals of Indian cricket.”

Having made his international debut in 2004, MS Dhoni quickly rose up the ranks in Indian cricket. He was named captain of the T20I side in 2007 and had a massive impact. He led the team to the World T20 title. MS Dhoni then became the ODI captain after Rahul Dravid relinquished the post. Eventually, he was ascended to full-time Test captaincy once current India coach, Anil Kumble retired.

He relinquished Test captaincy and retired from the longest form of the game in 2014 but continued to captain the side in limited overs. He holds the record for most matches as captain of an international side, with 331 games across formats.

His last series as captain came against New Zealand at home, where India won the series.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here