Mamta Banerjee, the Bengal Tigress has won consecutive two assembly polls in West Bengal. She didn’t stop till here, now she is holding a national party with her, that is, Trinamool Congress. Her success can be seen by the development she has done to the state. Now India has seven national parties- Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India- Marxist, Nationalist Congress Party and All India Trinamool Congress.

Trinamool Congress becomes the seventh National Party

How Trinamool Congress became the National party?

Our constitution says that if a party has four or more than four states then it will be counted as a national party. Trinamool Congress got the support of four states in all over India which includes West Bengal, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur. Secondly, a political party becomes a National party if it won two percent seats in the Lok Sabha from atleast three different states and that too in general elections. If not this, then it should be recognised in the Lok Sabha or Assembly election, it has to get six percent of the total valid votes in not less than four states, in addition to win four Lok Sabha. And the third condition is that the political party should contain the support of four states or more states.

On 22nd August, the law was amended that every national and state party status of a political party will be reviewed at every ten years instead of five years. If the law would have not been amended that Trinamool Congress would never become a national party as it has lost in Arunachal Pradesh. They were lucky enough to gather the vote from thereof they would have lost on one state. This amendment come as a major reprieve for BSP,NCP and CPI as they were facing problem as they have lost the Lok Sabha seat in 2014. Election Commission has sent the regarding letters to all these three parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here