ISRO to launch 103 satellites from PSLV C37 in FEBIndia 

ISRO to Launch record 103 satellites through one rocket in February

The Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) has announced that it shall be launching a 103 satellites from the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) – C37 mission that is scheduled to be launched in February. The number of satellites that will be launched, shall be a World record. 100 of those satellites belong to India, but 3 of them are from other countries. The foreign satellites belong to the US and Germany.

ISRO to launch record 103 satellites through  PSLV C37 in Feb
ISRO to launch record 103 satellites through PSLV C37 in Feb

The satellites shall be launched from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre in Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh. ISRO had earlier planned to launch 83 satellites in the end of January, but finally decided on scoring a century by pushing the launch date a week to the next month.

The PSLV – C36 mission was the first to send back visual data of the satellite launch and satellite deployment from cameras that were installed on board. If the PSLV – C37 is fitted with cameras, space enthusiasts can watch the feed of the PSLV getting launched and the satellites getting deployed in space.

This will be a major milestone for ISRO as no such mission has been attempted before. All the missions of 2016 put together launched 33 satellites. This should tell us how advanced the upcoming launch of 103 satellites is for ISRO. The maximum number of satellites that were launched at one go was 34, which was done by NASA in 2014.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s pet project the South Asian satellite project will start in March of 2017. The South Asian satellite will be a part of the GSAT 9. The communications satellite was to be launched by the Indian Space Research Organization under the aegis of the SAARC. The project was to be launched in December 2016, but as India was trying to get Afghanistan on board, the satellite could not be launched in December 2016. The satellite shall benefit India, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan.

Related posts

Leave a Comment