ABVP, the student’s body linked to the ruling BJP, has won three of the top posts of the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) however surrendered one position to the Congress’ student wing NSUI.

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad’s (ABVP) Amit Tanwar, Priyanka Chabri and Ankit Sangwan were chosen DUSU President, Vice President and Secretary individually. Mohit Sangwan of the NSUI (National Students’ Union of India) won the Joint Secretary post.ABVP Wins Top 3 Posts In Delhi University Polls

A year ago, the AVBP had cleared the DUSU surveys, winning the majority of the four top positions and in addition in 2014. The Aam Aadmi Party’s Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti, which was vanquished a year ago in its introduction, did not challenge the polls this year.

A significant number of 17,712 NOTA votes which were presented without precedent for DUSU surveys, were additionally practiced by the students.

In the distinctly challenged President’s post, Amit Tanwar got 16,357 votes overcoming NSUI hopeful Nikhil Yadav by an edge of 4,680 votes, Rawat said.

Priyanka, who is the solitary young lady in the chose board, acquired 15,592 votes. She vanquished her nearest equal by an edge of 2,455 votes.

Ankit Singh Sangwan, who won the Secretary’s post got 15,518 votes. He won by a margin of 1,383 votes.

NSUI’s winning candidate Mohit Garid garnered the maximum votes in the elected panel at 16,526 votes, winning the seat by a margin of 2466 votes.

The DUSU polls were held yesterday in two stages for electing representatives from 17 candidates of ABVP, AISA and NSUI.

While seven applicants were in the race for the post of President, 4 designations were accepted for the post of Vice-President

Over 36 per cent out of a total of 1,23,246 voters had cast their votes at 117 booths in 51 colleges.

The champs were garlanded and parade were taken out by ABVP supporters who paid tributes at Swami Vivekanand’s statue in the Arts Faculty of the college.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here